- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 47. Welfare, Social Services and Institutions
- Chapter 55. Alaska Pioneers' Home and Alaska Veterans' Home
- Section 20. Admission to a Home.
previous: Section 10
. Maintenance and Operation of Alaska Pioneers' Home and Alaska Veterans' Home.
next: Section 30
. Admission On Payment.
AS 47.55.020. Admission to a Home.
- (a) Every person residing in the state who is 65 years of age or older, has been a resident of the state continuously for
more than one year immediately preceding application for admission, and is in need of residence at a home because of
physical disability or other reason, is eligible for admission to the Alaska Pioneers' Home or the Alaska Veterans'
Home under conditions prescribed in regulations. The spouse of a person who is eligible for admission under other
provisions of this subsection is also eligible for admission to a home under conditions prescribed by the department if
the spouse is 65 years of age or older and has been a resident of the state continuously for more than one year
immediately preceding application for admission.
- (b) Every person admitted to a home who receives income from any source in excess of $100 a month shall be required by the
department to pay the excess to the department immediately upon receipt of the money in payment, or part payment, of
the cost of the person's care. However, the department may not require in any month the payment of an amount greater
than the monthly rate set under AS 47.55.030
(b) except to satisfy indebtedness incurred under AS 47.55.070
. The department may not evict a person from a home if the income and assets of the person are insufficient to pay the
monthly rate set under AS 47.55.030
(b) and the person is otherwise in compliance with requirements under this chapter.
- (c) At the end of each month, the payments made under (b) of this section shall be transmitted to the commissioner of
revenue. The department may pay the sum of $100 a month to a resident without money.
- (d) Notwithstanding AS 47.55.070
and (b) of this section, a resident of a home whose income, assets, and other resources are insufficient to pay the
monthly rate set under AS 47.55.030
(b), and who does not have private insurance to cover the cost of care, qualifies for payment assistance if the
resident is otherwise in compliance with requirements under this chapter. The amount of payment assistance equals the
amount needed, when added to other income and assets of the resident, to pay the monthly rate set under AS 47.55.030
(b). Payment assistance received by a home resident is a debt to the state. In determining the amount of payment
assistance for which a home resident qualifies, the following income, assets, and other resources of the resident shall
- (1) income from any source in an amount up to $100 a month as established by the department by regulation;
- (2) the following assets received under 43 U.S.C. 1601 et seq. (Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act):
- (A) cash dividends and other income equal to at least $2,000 as established by the department by regulation;
- (B) stock;
- (C) noncash dividends from stock; and
- (D) land;
- (3) a permanent fund dividend issued under AS 43.23;
- (4) compensation to volunteers under the federal retired and senior volunteers (42 U.S.C. 5001), foster grandparents (42
U.S.C. 5011), and senior companion (42 U.S.C. 5013) programs made in accordance with 42 U.S.C. 5044(f);
- (5) federal World War II restitution payments made under 50 U.S.C. App. 1989b-4 and c-5;
- (6) payments under AS 18.67 (Violent Crimes Compensation Board);
- (7) an amount, determined by the department by regulation, that is sufficient for burial expenses of the resident, the
resident's spouse, and dependents of the resident;
- (8) real property being used as the primary residence of the resident's spouse or a dependent of the resident;
- (9) other real or personal property equal to at least a total value of up to $10,000 as established by the department by
- (e) As a condition for receipt of payment assistance under (d) of this section, the department, under regulations adopted
by the department, may require a person to apply for other state or federally sponsored programs that may reduce the
amount of the payment assistance.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.