Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 28. Motor Vehicles
- Chapter 15. Drivers' Licenses
- Section 31. Persons Not to Be Licensed.
previous: Section 30
. Persons Not to Be Licensed. [Repealed, Sec. 19 Ch 178 SLA 1978].
next: Section 40
. Instruction Permits and Temporary Licenses. [Repealed, Sec. 19 Ch 178 SLA 1978].
AS 28.15.031. Persons Not to Be Licensed.
- (a) The department may not issue a driver's license to a person who is
- (1) under the age of 16 years, except that the department may issue a permit under AS 28.15.051
or a restricted license under AS 28.15.121
- (2) at least 16 years of age but not yet 18 years of age unless the person meets the requirements of AS 28.15.057
- (b) The department may not issue an original or duplicate driver's license to, nor renew or reinstate the driver's license
of, a person
- (1) whose license is suspended, revoked, canceled, or withdrawn in this or any other jurisdiction
except as otherwise provided in this chapter;
- (2) who fails to appear in court for the adjudication of a certain vehicle, driver, or traffic offense when the person's
appearance is required by statute, regulation, or court rule;
- (3) who is an habitual user of alcohol or another drug to such a degree that the person is incapable of safely driving a
- (4) when the department, based upon medical evidence, has determined that because of the person's physical or mental
disability the person is not able to drive a motor vehicle safely;
- (5) who is unable to understand official traffic control devices as displayed in this state or who does not have a fair
knowledge of traffic laws and regulations, as demonstrated by an examination;
- (6) who has knowingly made a false statement in the person's application for a license or has committed fraud in
connection with the person's application for, or in obtaining or attempting to obtain, a license, or who has not
applied under oath on the form provided for the purpose of obtaining or attempting to obtain a license or permit; or
- (7) who is required under AS 28.20 to furnish proof of financial
responsibility and who has not done so.
- (c) The department may not issue an original or duplicate commercial driver's license to, nor
renew or reinstate the commercial driver's license of, a person who is disqualified from operating commercial motor
vehicles in this or any other jurisdiction or is not domiciled in this state.
- (d) In this section, "disqualified" has the meaning given in AS 28.33.190.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.