Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 28. Motor Vehicles
- Chapter 15. Drivers' Licenses
- Section 57. Restrictions On Driver's License Issued to a Person Under 18.
previous: Section 55
. Provisional Driver's License.
next: Section 60
. Applications of Minors. [Repealed, Sec. 19 Ch 178 SLA 1978].
AS 28.15.057. Restrictions On Driver's License Issued to a Person Under 18.
- (a) Except as provided under AS 28.15.051
, a person who is at least 16 years of age but not yet 18 years of age may not be issued a driver's license unless the
- (1) been licensed under an instruction permit issued under AS 28.15.051 or under the law of another state with
substantially similar requirements for at least six months;
- (2) held a valid provisional driver's license issued under AS 28.15.055 for at least six months; and
- (3) not been convicted of violating a traffic law, or been convicted of violating AS 04.16.050
(c), during the six months before applying for a driver's license; in this paragraph, "traffic law" has the meaning
given to "traffic laws" in AS 28.15.261
- (b) A person authorized to drive a motor vehicle under a provisional driver's license issued under AS 28.15.055
- (1) operate a motor vehicle that is carrying any passengers
- (A) except a passenger who is a parent, legal guardian, sibling, or a person at least 21 years of age; or
- (B) unless at least one of the passengers is a parent, legal guardian, or person at least 21 years of age; or
- (2) operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 1:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m., except when the person is
- (A) accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or a person at least 21 years of age who is licensed to drive the type or
class of vehicle being used; or
- (B) driving to or from the person's place of employment or within the scope of the person's employment and the driving is
along the most direct available route.
- (c) This section does not apply to restricted licenses issued to persons to operate motor vehicles in areas of the state
off the road system when operating motor vehicles in those areas.
- (d) A person who violates this section is guilty of an infraction.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.