Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 28. Motor Vehicles
- Chapter 15. Drivers' Licenses
- Section 55. Provisional Driver's License.
previous: Section 51
. Instruction Permit, Temporary Driver's License, and Special Driver's Permit.
next: Section 57
. Restrictions On Driver's License Issued to a Person Under 18.
AS 28.15.055. Provisional Driver's License.
Upon application, the department may issue a provisional driver's license to a person who is at least 16 years of age
but not yet 18 years of age if the
- (1) person has been licensed under an instruction permit issued under AS 28.15.051
or under the law of another state with substantially similar requirements for at least six months;
- (2) person's parent, legal guardian, or employer provides proof satisfactory to the department that the applicant has at
least 40 hours of driving experience, including at least 10 hours of driving in progressively challenging
circumstances, such as driving in inclement weather and nighttime driving; and
- (3) person has not been convicted of a violation of a traffic law within the six months before the application is filed;
in this paragraph, "traffic law" has the meaning given to "traffic laws" in AS 28.15.261.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.