- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 47. Welfare, Social Services and Institutions
- Chapter 30. Mental Health
- Section 690. Admission of Minors Under 18 Years of Age.
previous: Section 685
. Request to Leave; Evaluation; 48-Hour Hold For Commitment.
next: Section 693
. Notice to Parent or Guardian or Minor.
AS 47.30.690. Admission of Minors Under 18 Years of Age.
- (a) A minor under the age of 18 may be admitted for 30 days of evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment at a designated
treatment facility if the minor's parent or guardian signs the admission papers and if, in the opinion of the
professional person in charge,
- (1) the minor is gravely disabled or is suffering from mental illness and as a result is likely to cause serious harm to
the minor or others;
- (2) there is no less restrictive alternative available for the minor's treatment; and
- (3) there is reason to believe that the minor's mental condition could be improved by the course of treatment or would
deteriorate further if untreated.
- (b) A guardian ad litem for a minor admitted under this section shall be appointed under AS 25.24.310
to monitor the best interests of the minor as soon as possible after the minor's admission. If the guardian ad litem
finds that placement is not appropriate, the guardian ad litem may request that an attorney be appointed under AS 25.24.310
to represent the minor. The attorney may request a hearing on behalf of the minor during the 30-day admittance.
- (c) The minor may be released by the treatment facility at any time if the professional person in charge or the minor's
designated mental health professional determines the minor would no longer benefit from continued treatment and the
minor is not dangerous. The minor's parents or guardian must be notified by the facility of the contemplated release.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.