A voluntary patient who is 18 years of age or older and who desires to leave a treatment facility shall submit to the facility a request to leave on a form provided by the facility. When the investigation is completed, the patient shall be evaluated immediately in writing and discharged immediately or given written notice that involuntary commitment proceedings will be initiated against the patient. The treatment facility may detain the patient for no more than 48 hours after receipt of the patient's request to leave in order to initiate involuntary commitment proceedings.
All content © 2008 by Touch N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We hope you find this information useful.