- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 34. Property
- Chapter 3. Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act
- Section 70. Security Deposits and Prepaid Rent.
previous: Section 60
. Sublease and Assignment.
next: Section 80
AS 34.03.070. Security Deposits and Prepaid Rent.
- (a) A landlord may not demand or receive prepaid rent or a security deposit, however denominated, in an amount or value in
excess of two months' periodic rent. This section does not apply to rental units where the rent exceeds $2,000 a month.
- (b) Upon termination of the tenancy, property or money held by the landlord as prepaid rent or as a security deposit may
be applied to the payment of accrued rent and the amount of damages that the landlord has suffered by reason of the
tenant's noncompliance with AS 34.03.120
. The accrued rent and damages must be itemized by the landlord in a written notice mailed to the tenant's last known
address within the time limit prescribed by (g) of this section, together with the amount due the tenant. In this
- (1) means deterioration of the premises and, if applicable, of the contents of the premises;
- (2) does not include deterioration
- (A) that is the result of the tenant's use of the premises by normal, nonabusive living;
- (B) caused by the landlord's failure to prepare for expected conditions or by the landlord's failure to comply with an
obligation of the landlord imposed by this chapter.
- (c) All money paid to the landlord by the tenant as prepaid rent or as a security deposit in a lease or rental agreement
shall be promptly deposited by the landlord, wherever practicable, in a trust account in a bank, savings and loan
association, or licensed escrow agent, and the landlord shall provide to the tenant the terms and conditions under
which the prepaid rent or security deposit or portions of them may be withheld by the landlord; nothing in this chapter
prohibits the landlord from commingling prepaid rents and security deposits in a single financial account.
- (d) If the landlord wilfully fails to comply with (b) of this section, the tenant may recover an amount not to exceed
twice the actual amount withheld.
- (e) This section does not preclude a landlord or tenant from recovering other damages to which either may be entitled
under this chapter.
- (f) The holder of the landlord's interest in the premises at the time of the termination of the tenancy is bound by this
- (g) If the landlord or tenant gives notice that complies with AS 34.03.290, the landlord shall mail the written notice and
refund required by (b) of this section within 14 days after the tenancy is terminated and possession is delivered by
the tenant. If the tenant does not give notice that complies with AS 34.03.290
, the landlord shall mail the written notice and refund required by (b) of this section within 30 days after the
tenancy is terminated, possession is delivered by the tenant, or the landlord becomes aware that the dwelling unit is
abandoned. If the landlord does not know the mailing address of the tenant, but knows or has reason to know how to
contact the tenant to give the notice required by (b) of this section, the landlord shall make a reasonable effort to
deliver the notice and refund to the tenant.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.