Alaska Statutes.
Title 34. Property
Chapter 3. Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act
Section 290. Periodic Tenancy and Holdover.
previous: Section 285. Service of Process Upon Tenant.
next: Section 300. Landlord and Tenant Remedies For Abuse of Access.

AS 34.03.290. Periodic Tenancy and Holdover.

(a) While rent is current, the landlord or the tenant may terminate a week to week tenancy by a written notice given to the other at least 14 days before the termination date specified in the notice.

(b) The landlord or the tenant may terminate a month to month tenancy by a written notice given to the other at least 30 days before the rental due date specified in the notice.

(c) If the tenant remains in possession without the landlord's consent after expiration of the term of the rental agreement or after its termination under (a) or (b) of this section, the landlord may, after serving a notice to quit to the tenant under AS 09.45.100 - 09.45.105, bring an action for possession and if the tenant's holdover is wilful and not in good faith the landlord, in addition, may recover an amount not to exceed one and one-half times the actual damages. If the landlord consents to the tenant's continued occupancy, AS 34.03.020 applies.

All content © 2008 by Touch N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.

Note to HTML Version:

This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We hope you find this information useful.