Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 28. Motor Vehicles
- Chapter 20. Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act
- Section 50. Application of Chapter.
previous: Section 40
. Department to Furnish Operating Record. [Repealed, Sec. 20 Ch 241 SLA 1976].
next: Section 60
. Exceptions to Requirement of Security.
AS 28.20.050. Application of Chapter.
- (a) The provisions of this chapter requiring deposit of security and suspension for failure to deposit security apply to
the driver and owner of a vehicle subject to registration under the laws of this state that is involved in any manner
in an accident in this state resulting in bodily injury to or death of a person or damage to the property of any one
person exceeding $501.
- (b) Not less than 20 days after receipt of a report of such accident, the department shall determine the amount of
security that it considers sufficient to satisfy any judgments for damages resulting from the accident that may be
recovered against each driver or owner. The determination may not be made with respect to a driver or owner who is
exempt from the requirements as to security and suspension.
- (c) The department shall determine the amount of security deposit required upon the basis of the reports or other
information submitted. If a person involved in an accident as described in this chapter fails to make a report or
submit information indicating the extent of the person's injuries or the damage to the person's property within 30 days
after the accident, and the department does not have sufficient information on which to base an evaluation of injuries
or damage, then the department after reasonable notice to the person, if it is possible to give notice, otherwise
without notice, may not require a deposit of security for the benefit or protection of the person.
- (d) Within 30 days after receipt of report of an accident and upon determining the amount of security to be required of
any person involved in the accident or to be required of the owner of any vehicle involved in the accident, the
department shall give to every person written notice of the amount of security required to be deposited by the person
and stating that an order of suspension will be made upon the expiration of 10 days after the notice is sent unless
within that time security is deposited as required. A license may not be suspended unless the licensee is afforded a
hearing by the department at which it is determined that there is a reasonable possibility of a judgment being rendered
holding the licensee liable.
- (e) A peace officer investigating an accident that results in bodily injury to or the death of a person or damage to the
property of a person exceeding $501 shall inform persons involved in the accident in writing of the requirements of
this chapter as they apply to suspension of an operator's license or driving privileges.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.