Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 18. Health, Safety, and Housing
- Chapter 67. Violent Crimes Compensation Board
- Section 130. Limitations On Awarding Compensation.
previous: Section 120
. Emergency Compensation.
next: Section 140
. Recovery From Offender.
AS 18.67.130. Limitations On Awarding Compensation.
- (a) An order for the payment of compensation may not be made under AS 18.67.080 unless
- (1) the application has been made within two years after the date of the personal injury or death;
- (2) the personal injury or death was the result of an incident or offense listed in AS 18.67.101
that had been reported to the police within five days of its occurrence or, if the incident or offense could not
reasonably have been reported within that period, within five days of the time when a report could reasonably have been
- (3) in the discretion of the board, the applicant has cooperated with law enforcement and prosecution officials to further
prosecution of the offender if appropriate and to avoid further injury by the offender to the applicant and injury to
persons in the care of the applicant who are exposed to possible injury by the offender.
- (b) Compensation may not be awarded if the victim
- (1) [Repealed, Sec. 8 ch 96 SLA 1983].
- (2) [Repealed, Sec. 8 ch 96 SLA 1983].
- (3) violated a penal law of the state, which violation caused or contributed to the victim's injuries or death; or
- (4) is injured as a result of the operation of a motor vehicle, boat, or airplane unless the vehicle was used by the
offender while intoxicated or as a weapon in a deliberate attempt to injure or kill the victim.
- (c) Compensation may not be awarded under this chapter in an amount in excess of $40,000 per victim per incident. However,
in the case of the death of
- (1) a victim who has more than one dependent eligible for compensation, the total compensation that may be awarded as a
result of that death may not exceed $80,000; the board may prorate the total awarded among those dependents according
to relative need; or
- (2) two or more victims in the same incident who jointly have a dependent eligible for compensation, the total
compensation that may be awarded as a result of those deaths may not exceed $80,000.
- (d) Orders for payment of compensation under this chapter may be made only as to injuries or death resulting from
incidents or offenses occurring on and after July 1, 1971.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.