Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 18. Health, Safety, and Housing
- Chapter 65. Police Protection
- Section 705. Qualifications to Obtain a Permit.
previous: Section 700
. Permit to Carry a Concealed Handgun.
next: Section 710
. Application For Permit to Carry a Concealed Handgun.
AS 18.65.705. Qualifications to Obtain a Permit.
A person is qualified to receive and hold a permit to carry a concealed handgun if the person
- (1) is 21 years of age or older;
- (2) is eligible to own or possess a handgun under the laws of this state and under federal law;
- (3) is a resident of the state and has been for the 90 days immediately preceding the application for a permit;
- (4) has not been convicted of two or more class A misdemeanors of this state or similar laws of another jurisdiction
within the six years immediately preceding the application;
- (5) is not now in and has not in the three years immediately preceding the application been ordered by a court to complete
an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program; and
- (6) has successfully completed a handgun course as provided in AS 18.65.715.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.