Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
If a teacher first joined the plan before July 1, 1982, and is married or has a minor child and wishes to make a spouse or minor child eligible for a spouse's pension or a survivor's allowance, the teacher may elect to make a supplemental contribution of an additional one percent of the teacher's base salary within 90 days of the teacher's entry into participation in the plan, or within 90 days of marriage, or within 90 days of the birth or adoption of a child dependent upon the teacher. Once an election is made under this section, supplemental contributions must be made whenever contributions are required under AS 14.25.050 unless the teacher executes a written waiver with the administrator. The execution of a waiver relinquishes all rights and benefits previously accrued under AS 14.25.162 and 14.25.164.
All content © 2008 by Touch N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We hope you find this information useful.