Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 21. Insurance
- Chapter 27. Producers, Agents, Administrators, Brokers, Adjusters, and Managers
- Section 380. License Renewal, Lapse, and Reinstatement.
previous: Section 370
. Sharing Compensation.
next: Section 390
. Temporary License.
AS 21.27.380. License Renewal, Lapse, and Reinstatement.
- (a) Except as provided in this title, the director may renew a license biennially on a date set by the director if the
licensee continues to be qualified under this chapter, and on or before the close of business of the renewal date, meets
all renewal requirements established by regulation and pays the renewal license fees set under AS 21.06.250
for each license to the director. A licensee is responsible for knowing the date that a license lapses and for
renewing a license before expiration. The director shall notify the licensee of the license renewal 30 days before the renewal date.
- (b) If a license is not renewed on or before the renewal date set by the director, the license lapses. A licensee may not
act as or represent to be an insurance producer, managing general agent, reinsurance intermediary broker, reinsurance
intermediary manager, surplus lines broker, or independent adjuster during the time a license has lapsed. The director
may reinstate a lapsed license if the person continues to qualify for the license, pays renewal license fees, and a
delayed renewal penalty. Reinstatement does not exempt a person from a penalty provided by law for transacting
business while unlicensed. A license may not be renewed if it has lapsed for two years or longer.
- (c) If a licensee does not wish to renew a license issued under this chapter, the licensee shall surrender the license to
the director on or before the close of business of the renewal date in the manner prescribed in AS 21.27.460
- (d) Notice of lapse from the director stating the reason for the lapse shall be mailed to a licensee at the licensee's
last address on record with the director. The director shall obtain a certificate of mailing from the United States
- (e) A trainee license issued to an independent adjuster shall be for a term not to exceed 12 months and may not be
- (f) A two-year trainee license issued to a managing general agent, reinsurance intermediary broker, reinsurance
intermediary manager, or surplus lines broker may be renewed only once.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.