- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 38. Public Land
- Chapter 9. Homestead Act
- Section 30. Qualification For Homestead Entry.
previous: Section 20
. Homestead Entry Permits.
next: Section 40
. Revocation of Entry Permits.
AS 38.09.030. Qualification For Homestead Entry.
- (a) An applicant for a homestead entry permit shall
- (1) submit proof acceptable to the commissioner that the applicant is at least 18 years of age and has been a resident of
the state for not less than one year immediately before the date of application;
- (2) pay a fee of $5 per acre according to the description provided by the applicant if the entry is on land classified
agricultural, or $10 per acre if the entry is on land not classified agricultural;
- (3) agree to comply with the requirements of AS 38.09.050
- (4) certify that the corners of the land entered have been staked and the boundaries have been flagged;
- (5) assume full responsibility for the accuracy of the description of the land filed with the commissioner under AS 38.09.020
- (b) Except as provided in (c) of this section, an applicant may not hold more than one homestead entry permit at one time
and may not receive a patent to more than one homestead entry in a lifetime.
- (c) The homestead entry permit may not be assigned, conveyed, or in any manner transferred except
- (1) by testate or intestate succession;
- (2) to a spouse during marriage;
- (3) by order of a court as part of a divorce settlement;
- (4) to either a member of the immediate family or a grantee of the applicant in the case of an extreme emergency or
illness which disables the applicant; or
- (5) after the approval of the commissioner, by an exchange between parties in the same homestead area.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.