Alaska Statutes.
Title 34. Property
Chapter 35. Liens
Section 475. Settlement After Notice.
previous: Section 470. Lien Docket. [Repealed, Sec. 7 Ch 135 SLA 1996].
next: Section 480. Enforcement of Lien.

AS 34.35.475. Settlement After Notice.

(a) A person or insurer is liable to a hospital, physician, or nurse, in the amount that the hospital, physician, or nurse is entitled to receive, for 180 days after the date of a payment to the injured person, the heirs of the injured person, personal representatives, or the attorney of them, when the person or insurer

(1) receives a copy of notice of lien, or the lien is recorded as provided in AS 34.35.460 and 34.35.465;

(2) makes the payment after receipt of notice or the recording of the lien as compensation for the injury suffered; and

(3) does not pay the hospital, physician, or the licensed special nurse for the reasonable value of the services rendered to the injured person and claimed in the notice of lien, or so much of the value of the services as can be satisfied out of a judgment, settlement, or compromise, after paying the attorney fees, costs, and expenses incurred in connection with it.

(b) The hospital, physician, or nurse has a cause of action, during the 180 days, against the person or insurer.

All content © 2008 by Touch N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.

Note to HTML Version:

This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We hope you find this information useful.