Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 28. Motor Vehicles
- Chapter 20. Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act
- Section 400. Self-Insurers.
previous: Section 390
. Proof By Persons Who Do Not Own a Vehicle.
next: Section 410
. Certificate of Insurance as Proof.
AS 28.20.400. Self-Insurers.
- (a) A person in whose name more than 25 vehicles are registered in this state may qualify as a self-insurer by obtaining a
certificate of self-insurance issued by the department as provided in (b) of this section. A person in whose name 25 or
fewer vehicles are registered qualifies as a self-insurer and shall be issued a certificate of self-insurance if the
person provides proof satisfactory to the department that the person has and will continue to have the ability to pay a
judgment for property damage, bodily injury, or both, in the amount of at least $125,000.
- (b) The department may issue a certificate of self-insurance when it is satisfied that the person has and will continue to
have ability to pay judgments obtained against the person. The certificate may be issued authorizing a person to act
as a self-insurer for either property damage or bodily injury, or both, or within the limits the department prescribes.
- (c) Upon not less than 10 days' notice and a hearing pursuant to the notice, the department may upon reasonable grounds
cancel a certificate of self-insurance. Failure to pay a judgment within 30 days after judgment becomes final is a
reasonable ground for the cancellation of a certificate of self-insurance.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.