Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 28. Motor Vehicles
- Chapter 15. Drivers' Licenses
- Section 185. Court Revocation of a Minor's License to Drive.
previous: Section 184
. Administrative Review of Revocation of a Minor's License.
next: Section 187
. Administrative Revocation of a License to Drive For Use of False Identification.
AS 28.15.185. Court Revocation of a Minor's License to Drive.
- (a) A person is subject to revocation, under (b) of this section, of the person's driver's license or permit, privilege to
drive, or privilege to obtain a license if the person
- (1) is at least 13 years of age but not yet 21 years of age and is convicted of or is adjudicated a delinquent minor by a
court for misconduct involving a controlled substance under AS 11.71 or a municipal ordinance with substantially similar elements;
- (2) is at least 13 years of age but not yet 18 years of age and is convicted of or is adjudicated a delinquent minor by a
court for an offense involving the illegal use or possession of a firearm that is punishable under AS 11 or a municipal ordinance with substantially similar elements.
- (b) The court shall impose the revocation for an offense described in (a) of this section as follows:
- (1) for a first conviction or adjudication, the revocation may be for a period not to exceed 90 days;
- (2) for a second or subsequent conviction or adjudication, the revocation may be for a period not to exceed one year.
- (c) When a person described in (a) of this section has been convicted of or adjudicated a delinquent minor for an offense
listed in (a) of this section, the court may, upon petition of the person, review the revocation and may restore the
driver's license, except a court may not restore the driver's license until
- (1) at least one-half of the period of revocation imposed under this section has expired; and
- (2) the person has taken and successfully completed a state approved program of drug education or rehabilitation if
convicted or adjudicated of misconduct involving a controlled substance under AS 11.71 or a municipal ordinance with substantially similar elements;
however, this paragraph does not apply to a person who resides in an area that does not offer a state approved drug
education or rehabilitation program or a person that the court determines does not need drug education or
- (d) Notwithstanding the provisions of AS 28.20.240
and 28.20.250, upon conviction of an offense
specified in (a) of this section, the department may not require proof of financial responsibility before restoring or
issuing the person's driver's license.
- (e) In addition to revocation imposed under this section, a court that adjudicates a delinquent minor for repeat minor
consuming or in possession or control under AS 04.16.050
(c) or for habitual minor consuming or in possession or contact under AS 04.16.050
(d) shall revoke the minor's driver's license, privilege to drive, or privilege to obtain a license as provided in AS
(c) or (d).
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.