Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 28. Motor Vehicles
- Chapter 15. Drivers' Licenses
- Section 71. Application of Minors.
previous: Section 70
. Examination. [Repealed, Sec. 19 Ch 178 SLA 1978].
next: Section 80
. Issuance. [Repealed, Sec. 19 Ch 178 SLA 1978].
AS 28.15.071. Application of Minors.
- (a) The application of a person under the age of 18 years for an instruction permit or driver's license must be signed by
the father, mother, guardian, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older, or if there is no parent, guardian, or spouse,
then by another responsible adult who is willing to assume the obligation imposed under this section upon a person
signing the application. The application must be signed and verified before a person authorized to administer oaths,
or be signed in the presence of an authorized representative of the department.
- (b) Any negligence or wilful misconduct of a person under the age of 18 years when driving a motor vehicle in this state
is imputed to the person who signed the application of the person for a permit or license, and that person is jointly
and severally liable for damage caused by the negligence or wilful misconduct of the person under the age of 18 years,
except as provided in (c) of this section.
- (c) If a minor deposits, or there is deposited on behalf of the minor, proof of financial responsibility for the minor's
driving of a motor vehicle, in the form and amount required in AS 28.20, then the department may accept the application of the minor
signed as required under (a) of this section, and, while proof of financial responsibility is maintained, the parent,
guardian, spouse, or other responsible adult is not subject to the liability imposed under (b) of this section.
- (d) A person who signs the application of a minor for a driver's license may file with the department a verified written
request that the license of the minor be canceled. When the license is canceled, the person who signed the application
is relieved from liability under (b) of this section.
- (e) This section does not apply to a person under 18 years of age who is legally emancipated under AS 09.55.590
or a similar law in another jurisdiction.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.