Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 28. Motor Vehicles
- Chapter 10. Vehicle Registration, Liens, and Title
- Section 502. Towing and Storage Lien.
previous: Section 501
. [Renumbered as AS 28.10.661
next: Section 505
. Disclosure of Personal Information Contained in Motor Vehicle Records.
AS 28.10.502. Towing and Storage Lien.
- (a) A person engaged in the business of towing motor vehicles, who tows, transports, or stores a motor vehicle, has a
possessory lien on the vehicle. This lien attaches when the person acts under a contract with the owner or at the
direction of a public officer acting lawfully or a person entitled to possession of the property upon which the motor
vehicle is parked without consent. The lien remains in effect while the motor vehicle is in the possession of the
person, and the vehicle may be sold, as provided in (c) of this section, to pay the charges for towing, transportation
- (b) A lien under this section is limited to towing and storage charges. Storage charges cease to be part of the lien after
60 days unless the registered owner or primary lienholder, if any, has been given actual notice of the possessory lien
within that time or unless a certified letter has been mailed within that time to the owner and primary lienholder, if
any, at their addresses of record with the department or the corresponding office in another jurisdiction in which the
title to the motor vehicle and the lien on it are recorded.
- (c) If the motor vehicle remains unclaimed for a period of 30 days in the possession of the person who performed the
towing, transportation or storage, it shall be sold on giving 20 days notice of the sale. The notice shall be delivered
to the proper officer and personally served on the registered owner and all lienholders, if any, of the motor vehicle
in the same manner as provided by law for service of summons. If either of these persons cannot be located and served
personally, notice of the sale shall be forwarded to the registered owner and all lienholders, if any, at their last
known address by certified mail, return receipt requested. This notice must contain a description of the motor
vehicle, including its registration plate number and vehicle identification number, together with the time and place of
sale, a statement of the amount due, and the name and address of the person to whom the charges are due.
- (d) The money realized from a sale made under this section shall be applied first to the payment of costs and expenses of
the sale and secondly to the lawful charges of the person having a lien on the motor vehicle under this section.
Remaining proceeds from the sale shall be retained by the department to be distributed to the registered and legal
owner or lienholder entitled to the remaining proceeds. A purchaser in good faith of a titled motor vehicle sold under
this section takes the motor vehicle free of any rights of prior lien.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.