Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 23. Labor and Workers' Compensation
- Chapter 30. Alaska Workers' Compensation Act
- Section 260. Penalty For Receiving Unapproved Fees and Soliciting.
previous: Section 255
. Penalty For Failure to Pay Compensation.
next: Section 263
. Immunity From Civil Liability For Workplace Safety Inspections.
AS 23.30.260. Penalty For Receiving Unapproved Fees and Soliciting.
- (a) A person is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, is punishable for each offense by a fine of not more than
$1,000, or by imprisonment for not more than one year, or by both, if the person
- (1) receives a fee, other consideration, or a gratuity on account of any services rendered for
representation or advice with respect to a claim, unless the
consideration or gratuity is approved by the board or the court; or
- (2) makes it a business to solicit employment for a lawyer or for the person making the solicitation
with respect to a claim or award for compensation.
- (b) Notwithstanding AS 23.30.145 and (a) of this section, approval of a fee is
not required if the fee does not exceed $300 and is a one-time-only charge to an employee by an attorney licensed in
this state who performed legal services with respect to the employee's claim but did not enter an appearance.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.