Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 23. Labor and Workers' Compensation
- Chapter 30. Alaska Workers' Compensation Act
- Section 127. Appeals to Commission.
previous: Section 125
. Administrative Review of Compensation Order.
next: Section 128
. Commission Proceedings.
AS 23.30.127. Appeals to Commission.
- (a) A party in interest may appeal a compensation order issued by the board to the commission
within 30 days after the compensation order is filed with the office of the board under AS 23.30.110 . The director may intervene in an appeal. If a
party in interest is not represented by counsel and the compensation order concerns an unsettled question of law, the
director may file an appeal to obtain a ruling on the question by the commission.
- (b) An appeal is initiated by filing with the office of the commission
- (1) a signed notice of appeal specifying the compensation order appealed from;
- (2) a statement of the grounds upon which the appeal is taken; and
- (3) other material the commission may by regulation require.
- (c) A cross-appeal may be initiated by filing with the office of the commission a signed notice
of cross-appeal within 30 days after the decision is filed or within 15 days after service of notice of an appeal,
whichever is later. The notice of cross-appeal shall specify the compensation order appealed from and the grounds upon
which the cross-appeal is taken.
- (d) The office of the commission may charge a fee, not to exceed $100, for filing appeals and
cross-appeals, except that the office of the commission may not charge a fee if the appellant is the state or a political
subdivision of the state. The commission may require an appellant to pay the costs of the transcript of hearing and the
preparation of the record on appeal. The commission may require cross-appellants or intervenors to share in the costs.
- (e) If a request for reconsideration of a board decision was timely filed with the office of the
board, the notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days after the reconsideration decision is mailed to the parties or
the date the request for reconsideration is considered denied in the absence of any action on the request, whichever is
- (f) The commission may require written briefs and make other rules and orders to facilitate the
business of the commission and advance the prompt, fair, and just disposition of appeals.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.