Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 23. Labor and Workers' Compensation
- Chapter 30. Alaska Workers' Compensation Act
- Section 70. Report of Injury to Division.
previous: Section 65
. Employer's Record of Injuries.
next: Section 75
. Employer's Liability to Pay.
AS 23.30.070. Report of Injury to Division.
- (a) Within 10 days from the date the employer has knowledge of an injury or death or from the date the employer has
knowledge of a disease or infection, alleged by the employee or on behalf of the employee to have arisen out of and in
the course of the employment, the employer shall send to the division a report setting out
- (1) the name, address, and business of the employer;
- (2) the name, address, and occupation of the employee;
- (3) the cause and nature of the alleged injury or death;
- (4) the year, month, day, and hour when and the particular locality where the alleged injury or death occurred; and
- (5) the other information that the division may require.
- (b) Additional reports with respect to the injury and to the condition of the employee shall be sent by the employer to the
division at the times and in the manner that the director prescribes.
- (c) A report made under (a) or (b) of this section is not evidence of a fact stated in the report in a proceeding in
respect to the injury or death on account of which the report is made.
- (d) Mailing of the report and copy to the division in a stamped envelope, within the time prescribed in (a) or (b) of this
section, is compliance with this section.
- (e) If the employer or the carrier has been given notice, or the employer, or an agent of the employer in charge of the
business in the place where the injury occurred, or the carrier has knowledge of an injury or death of an employee and
fails, neglects, or refuses to file a report of it as required by (a) of this section, the limitations in AS 23.30.105
(a) of this chapter do not begin to run against the claim of the injured employee or the employee's dependents entitled
to compensation, or in favor of either the employer or the carrier, until the report has been furnished as required (a)
of this section.
- (f) An employer who fails or refuses to send a report required of the employer by this section or who fails or refuses to
send the report required by (a) of this section within the time required shall, if so required by the board, pay the
employee or the legal representative of the employee or other person entitled to compensation by reason of the
employee's injury or death an additional award equal to 20 percent of the amounts that were unpaid when due. The award
shall be against either the employer or the insurance carrier, or both.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.