Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 21. Insurance
- Chapter 36. Trade Practices and Frauds
- Section 320. Hearings and Order On Violation.
previous: Section 310
next: Section 330
. Injunctive Relief.
AS 21.36.320. Hearings and Order On Violation.
- (a) On the complaint of a person or on the motion of the director, the director may conduct an investigation to determine
whether a person is engaged in an unfair method of competition or unfair or deceptive act or practice prohibited by
- (b) If there are grounds for believing that a person is engaged in an act or practice prohibited by this chapter, the
director may institute proceedings under AS 21.06.170
- (c) If the director determines that a person violated this chapter, the director shall serve upon the person charged an
order requiring that person to cease and desist from engaging in the act or practice.
- (d) In addition to an order issued under (c) of this section, the director may, after a hearing, order restitution, assess
a penalty of not more than $2,500 for each violation or $25,000 for engaging in a general business practice in
violation of this chapter.
- (e) If the director determines after a hearing that the person charged knew or should have known that the person was in
violation of this chapter, in addition to the penalty prescribed in (d) of this section, a suspension or revocation of
the person's license and a penalty of not more than $25,000 for each violation or $250,000 for engaging in the general
business practice in violation of this chapter may also be ordered by the director.
- (f) If the director believes that a person has violated a cease and desist order issued under (c) of this section, the
director may certify the relevant facts to the superior court in the appropriate district, for proceedings under AS 44.62.590
. In addition to the penalties and remedies provided for in AS 44.62.590
, the superior court, upon finding that the cease and desist order has been violated, may order the violator to comply
with the order, pay an additional penalty of not more than $1,000,000 for each violation, may revoke or suspend the
violator's license, and may bar the violator from transacting the business of insurance in the future.
- (g) In determining the penalty imposed under (d) and (e) of this section, the director shall consider the amount of loss
or harm caused by the violation and the amount of benefit derived by the person by reason of the violation and may
consider other factors, including the seriousness of the violation, the promptness and completeness of remedial action,
whether the violation was a single act or a trade practice, and deterrence of the violator or others.
- (h) If the violation is a single act prohibited under AS 21.36.125
that results in loss or harm, the director may require restitution or issue a cease and desist order but may not
impose a penalty that includes a fine or require other remedial action, unless the violation results in loss or harm
and is intentional. This subsection does not affect the director's authority to impose a penalty for multiple acts
prohibited under AS 21.36.125
or a penalty for an act prohibited under a provision of law other than AS 21.36.125
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.