THE ALASKA LEGAL RESOURCE CENTER

Your online resource to all laws governing the state of Alaska.  We have all of the Alaska Statutes and the all of the Alaska admin code.

Sec. 11.46.220. Concealment of merchandise. Repealed

Go back to: Alaska statutes
Go back to: Title 11 Criminal Law
Go back to: Chapter 46. Offenses Against Property.

Sec. 11.46.220. Concealment of merchandise.
 (a) A person commits the crime of concealment of merchandise if without authority the person knowingly conceals on or about the person the merchandise of a commercial establishment, not purchased by the person, while still upon the premises of the commercial establishment, with intent to deprive the owner of the merchandise or with intent to appropriate the merchandise.

 (b) Merchandise found concealed upon or about the person which has not been purchased by the person is prima facie evidence of a knowing concealment.

 (c) Concealment of merchandise is
     (1) a class C felony if
          (A) the merchandise is a firearm;

          (B) the value of the merchandise, adjusted for inflation as provided in AS 11.46.982, is $750 or more; or

          (C) the value of the merchandise, adjusted for inflation as provided in AS 11.46.982, is $250 or more but less than $750 and, within the preceding five years, the person has been convicted and sentenced on two or more separate occasions in this or another jurisdiction of
               (i) the offense of concealment of merchandise under this paragraph or (2)(A) of this subsection, or an offense under another law or ordinance with similar elements; or

               (ii) an offense under AS 11.46.120, 11.46.130, or 11.46.140(a)(1), or an offense under another law or ordinance with similar elements;

     (2) a class A misdemeanor if
          (A) the value of the merchandise, adjusted for inflation as provided in AS 11.46.982, is $250 or more but less than $750; or

          (B) [Repealed, § 179 ch 36 SLA 2016.]
          (C) the value of the merchandise is less than $250 and, within the preceding five years, the person has been convicted and sentenced on three or more separate occasions of the offense of concealment of merchandise or theft in any degree, or an offense under another law or ordinance with similar elements;

     (3) a class B misdemeanor if the value of the merchandise, adjusted for inflation as provided in AS 11.46.982, is less than $250.

Other Sections in this Chapter: