Alaska Statutes.
Title 8. Business and Professions
Chapter 13. Barbers and Hairdressers
Section 82. Apprenticeship.
previous: Section 80. Qualifications of Applicants.
next: Section 90. Examinations and Other Requirements.

AS 08.13.082. Apprenticeship.

(a) The period of apprenticeship required to qualify an applicant for a license to practice barbering is 2,000 hours. The apprenticeship must be served in a shop approved by the board. The apprenticeship may not be completed in less than 12 months from the date of its commencement and must be completed in not more than two years from the date of its commencement. The board may set by regulation a period of apprenticeship of less than 2,000 hours for an applicant for a license to practice non-chemical barbering. The board may not require an applicant for a license to practice non-chemical barbering under AS 08.13.100(f) to perform apprenticeship hours or practical operations relating to chemical processes, including permanent waving, bleaching, coloring, or chemical straightening.

(b) The period of apprenticeship required to qualify an applicant for a license to practice hairdressing is 2,000 hours. The apprenticeship must be served in a shop approved by the board. The apprenticeship may not be completed in less than one year from the date of its commencement and must be completed in not more than two years from the date of its commencement.

(c) The period of apprenticeship required to qualify an applicant for a license to practice esthetics is 350 hours. The apprenticeship must be served in a shop approved by the board. The apprenticeship may not be completed in less than six months from the date of its commencement and must be completed in not more than one year from the date of its commencement.

(d) The number of hours of training required to qualify an applicant for a license to practice tattooing, permanent cosmetic coloring, or body piercing shall be set by the board in regulations. The trainee must be at least 18 years of age when the training commences. The training required under this subsection

(1) may only be received

(A) in a licensed shop in this state under a person who has a practitioner's license under this chapter in the field in which the trainee seeks training; or

(B) outside the state from a person approved by the board at a site approved by the board;

(2) must include at least 12 hours of training in safety, sanitation, sterilization, aseptic, and other practices necessary to prevent transmission of diseases and infection;

(3) shall be completed in not more than 12 months from the date of its commencement; and

(4) shall be documented by certification from the trainer that the training was successfully completed by the trainee.

(e) [Repealed, 12, ch. 12, SLA 2017.]

All content © 2023 by Touch N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.

Note to HTML Version:

This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2022. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We hope you find this information useful.