Alaska Statutes.
Title 6. Banks and Financial Institutions
Chapter 40. Premium Financing Act
Section 140. Cancellation of Policy.
previous: Section 130. Delinquency Charge; Separate Financing.
next: Section 150. Return of Unearned Premiums.

AS 06.40.140. Cancellation of Policy.

(a) When a premium finance agreement contains a power of attorney enabling the licensee to cancel the insurance policy listed in the agreement, the insurance policy may not be cancelled by the licensee unless the cancellation is effectuated under this section.

(b) The licensee shall give not less than 10 days' written notice to the borrower, by mailing by certified mail or documented by an affidavit of mailing, of the licensee's intent to cancel the insurance policy unless the default is cured within that 10-day period. A copy of the notice shall also be mailed by certified mail or documented by an affidavit of mailing to the insurance agent indicated on the premium finance agreement.

(c) After expiration of the 10-day period specified in (b) of this section, the licensee may, in the name of the borrower, cancel the insurance policy by mailing by certified mail or documented by an affidavit of mailing to the insurer a notice of cancellation. The insurance policy shall be cancelled as if the notice of cancellation had been submitted by the borrower, but without requiring the return of the insurance policy. The licensee shall also mail by certified mail or documented by an affidavit of mailing a notice of cancellation to the borrower at the borrower's last-known address and to the insurance agent indicated on the premium finance agreement.

(d) All statutory, regulatory, and contractual restrictions providing that the insurance policy may not be cancelled unless notice is given to a governmental agency, mortgagee, or other third party shall apply where cancellation is effected under this section. The insurer shall give the prescribed notice on behalf of itself or the borrower to any governmental agency, mortgagee, or other third party on or before the fifth business day after the day it receives the notice of cancellation from the licensee and shall determine the effective date of cancellation taking into consideration the number of days notice required to complete the cancellation.

All content © 2008 by Touch N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.

Note to HTML Version:

This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We hope you find this information useful.