Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 28. Motor Vehicles
- Chapter 35. Offenses and Accidents
- Section 80. Immediate Notice of Accident.
previous: Section 70
. Examination or Impounding Before Repair.
next: Section 90
. Rendering of Report By Others.
AS 28.35.080. Immediate Notice of Accident.
- (a) The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in bodily injury to or death of a person or total property
damage to an apparent extent of $2,000 or more shall immediately by the quickest means of communication give notice of
the accident to the local police department if the accident occurs within a municipality, otherwise to the Department
of Public Safety.
- (b) The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in bodily injury to or death of a person or total property
damage to an apparent extent of $2,000 or more shall, within 10 days after the accident, forward a written report of
the accident to the Department of Administration and to the local police department if the accident occurs within a
municipality. A report is not required under this subsection if the accident is investigated by a peace officer.
- (c) The form of accident report required under (b) of this section can be obtained from any local police department or the
Department of Public Safety.
- (d) The Department of Administration may require the driver of a vehicle involved in an accident of which a report must be
made to file supplemental reports whenever the original report is insufficient in the opinion of that department.
- (e) Every law enforcement officer who, in the regular course of duty, investigates a motor vehicle accident for which a
report must be made, either at the time of and at the scene of the accident or thereafter by interviewing the
participants or witnesses, shall, within 24 hours after completing the investigation, forward a written report of the
accident to the Department of Administration.
- (f) An accident report is not required under this section from a person who is physically incapable of making the report
during the period of incapacity.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.