- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 34. Property
- Chapter 60. Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Practices
- Section 50. Replacement Housing For Homeowners.
previous: Section 40
. Relocation Payments.
next: Section 60
. Replacement Housing For Tenants and Others.
AS 34.60.050. Replacement Housing For Homeowners.
- (a) In addition to payments otherwise authorized by this chapter, the state agency shall make an additional payment not to
exceed $22,500, to a displaced person who is displaced from a dwelling actually owned and occupied by the person for
not less than 180 days before the initiation of negotiations for the acquisition of the property. This additional
payment must include the following elements:
- (1) the amount, if any, that, when added to the acquisition cost of the dwelling acquired by the state agency, equals the
reasonable cost of a comparable replacement dwelling that is a decent, safe, and sanitary dwelling adequate to
accommodate the displaced person, is reasonably accessible to public services and places of employment, and is
available on the private market; all determinations required to carry out this paragraph shall be made in accordance
with standards established by the state agency making the additional payment;
- (2) the amount, if any, that will compensate the displaced person for any increased interest costs that the displaced
person is required to pay for financing the acquisition of the comparable replacement dwelling; this amount may be paid
only if the dwelling acquired by the state agency was encumbered by a bona fide mortgage that was a valid lien on the
dwelling for not less than 180 days before the initiation of negotiations for the acquisition of the dwelling; and
- (3) reasonable expenses incurred by the displaced person for evidence of title, recording fees, and other closing costs
incident to the purchase of the replacement dwelling, but not including prepaid expenses.
- (b) The additional payment authorized by (a) of this section may be made only to a displaced person who purchases and
occupies a replacement dwelling that is decent, safe, and sanitary not later than the end of the one year period
beginning on the date on which the person receives from the state agency final payment of all costs of the acquired
dwelling, or the date on which the person moves from the acquired dwelling, whichever is the later date.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.