Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 28. Motor Vehicles
- Chapter 33. Commercial Motor Vehicles
- Section 150. Driving a Commercial Motor Vehicle Without Being Lawfully Licensed.
previous: Section 140
. Conviction Resulting in Disqualification From Driving Commercial Vehicle.
next: Section 190
AS 28.33.150. Driving a Commercial Motor Vehicle Without Being Lawfully Licensed.
- (a) A person is guilty of a class A misdemeanor if the person drives a commercial motor vehicle in this state
- (1) without being licensed or privileged in this state to drive a commercial motor vehicle;
- (2) during a period when that person's driver's license, privilege to drive, or privilege to obtain a license has been
canceled, suspended, or revoked, or the person has been disqualified, in this or another jurisdiction;
- (3) in violation of a limitation placed upon that person's license or privilege to drive in this or another jurisdiction;
- (4) during a period when that person has been disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle by a court or an
administrative agency in this or another jurisdiction; or
- (5) in violation of an out of service order issued under AS 28.33.130
or under a law in another jurisdiction having substantially similar requirements.
- (b) Upon conviction under (a)(2) - (5) of this section, the court
- (1) shall impose a minimum sentence of imprisonment
- (A) if the person has not been previously convicted, of not less than 20 days with 10 days suspended, including a
mandatory condition of probation that the defendant complete not less than 80 hours of community work service; or
- (B) if the person has been previously convicted, of not less than 60 days and a fine of $1,000;
- (2) may impose additional conditions of probation;
- (3) may not
- (A) suspend execution of sentence or grant probation except on condition that the person serve a minimum term of
imprisonment and perform required community work service as provided in (1) of this subsection;
- (B) suspend imposition of sentence; and
- (4) shall revoke the person's license, privilege to drive, or privilege to obtain a license, and the person may not be
issued a new license nor may the privilege to drive or obtain a license be restored for an additional period of not
less than 90 days after the date that the person would have been entitled to restoration of driving privileges.
- (c) In this section, "previously convicted" means having been convicted in this or another jurisdiction, within 10 years
preceding the date of the present offense, of a violation of this section, AS 28.15.291, or another law or ordinance with substantially
Article 03. GENERAL PROVISIONS
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.