Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 28. Motor Vehicles
- Chapter 33. Commercial Motor Vehicles
- Section 100. License to Drive Commercial Motor Vehicle.
previous: Section 33
. Presumptions and Chemical Analysis of Breath or Blood.
next: Section 110
. Notification Requirements For Drivers of Commercial Motor Vehicles.
AS 28.33.100. License to Drive Commercial Motor Vehicle.
- (a) A person may not drive a commercial motor vehicle until the person applies for and is issued a license for that
purpose under AS 28.15.041. The department may not
issue a license to drive a commercial motor vehicle unless the applicant
- (1) is at least 19 years of age, to operate in intrastate commerce, or at least 21 years of age, to operate
in interstate commerce;
- (2) has held a valid driver's license at least one year before the date of application or meets the experience
qualifications established by the department;
- (3) has successfully completed all required driving tests and written and physical examinations;
- (4) either does not have a driver's license issued by another jurisdiction or surrenders all driver's licenses issued by
other jurisdictions; and
- (5) is domiciled in this state.
- (b) In addition to the information required under AS 28.15.111
, a commercial driver's license shall include information determined by the United States Secretary of Transportation
to be appropriate to identify the licensee.
- (c) A person who has been a state resident for 30 days or longer may not drive a commercial motor vehicle under the
authority of a commercial driver's license issued by another jurisdiction.
- (d) The licensing requirements of this section are in addition to the requirements imposed on a school bus driver under AS
- (e) The department shall disqualify a person for a period of 60 consecutive days, and shall reevaluate the person's
application or license to drive a commercial motor vehicle, if the department determines that the person knowingly
provided false information required under
- (1) this section or AS 28.15 in an application to the department for
a commercial driver's license; or
- (2) AS 28.33.110
(c) in an application for employment.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.