Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 28. Motor Vehicles
- Chapter 17. Commercial Driver Training Schools
- Section 61. Civil Penalty.
previous: Section 60
. Exemptions. [Repealed, Sec. 20 Ch 241 SLA 1976].
next: Section 70
. Penalties. [Repealed, Sec. 20 Ch 241 SLA 1976].
AS 28.17.061. Civil Penalty.
- (a) If the department determines a person has violated a provision of this chapter, or a regulation adopted under this
chapter, the department may impose a civil penalty not to exceed $5,000. In determining the amount of a civil penalty
imposed under this section, the department shall consider the economic benefit resulting from the violation, the
person's prior violations under this section, and the seriousness of the violation.
- (b) Before imposing a civil penalty under this section, the department shall provide notice of the civil penalty and an
opportunity to request an administrative hearing. If a hearing is not requested within 30 days after notice of the
civil penalty is received, the right to a hearing is considered waived. If a hearing is requested, the hearing shall be
conducted as provided under AS 28.05.141
- (c) If a person fails to pay a civil penalty imposed under this section within 30 days after the civil penalty is imposed
by the department, or if the civil penalty is stayed pending an appeal, within 10 days after the court enters a final
judgment in favor of the department, the department shall notify the attorney general. The attorney general may
commence a civil action to recover the amount of the civil penalty.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.