Alaska Statutes.
Title 18. Health, Safety, and Housing
Chapter 67. Violent Crimes Compensation Board
Section 50. Attorney Fees.
previous: Section 40. Action On Application; Hearings.
next: Section 60. Regulations.

AS 18.67.050. Attorney Fees.

The board may, as part of an order entered under this chapter, determine and allow reasonable attorney fees, which may not exceed 25 percent of the first $1,000 amount awarded as compensation, 15 percent of the next $9,000 amount awarded as compensation, and 7.5 percent of the amount awarded as compensation over $10,000 under AS 18.67.070 , to be paid in addition to the amount of the compensation, to the attorney representing the applicant. An attorney may not ask for, contract for, charge, demand, collect, or receive a larger sum than the amount allowed by the board in the award of attorney fees. An attorney who violates this section shall forfeit any fee awarded and shall repay the state the fee awarded under this section.

All content © 2008 by Touch N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.

Note to HTML Version:

This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We hope you find this information useful.