Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 18. Health, Safety, and Housing
- Chapter 50. Vital Statistics Act
- Section 240. Fetal Death Registration.
previous: Section 230
. Death Registration; Disclosure For Child Support Purposes.
next: Section 245
. Report of Induced Termination of Pregnancy.
AS 18.50.240. Fetal Death Registration.
- (a) A fetal death certificate for each fetal death that occurs in the state shall be filed with the local registrar of the
registration district in which the delivery occurred within three days after the delivery and before final disposition
of the fetus or removal of the fetus from the state, except as provided by regulation in special problem cases.
However, the filing of a certificate for a product of a pregnancy of less than 20 weeks may be determined by
regulation. For the purposes of this section, if the place of fetal death is unknown, a fetal death certificate shall
be filed in the registration district in which the dead fetus is found. When a fetal death occurs on a moving
conveyance a fetal death certificate shall be filed in the registration district in which the fetus is first removed
from the conveyance.
- (b) The funeral director or person acting as the funeral director who first assumes custody of a fetus shall file the
fetal death certificate. In the absence of a funeral director or a person acting as a funeral director, the physician
or other person in attendance at or after the delivery shall file the certificate of fetal death. The person who files
the certificate shall obtain the personal data from the next of kin or the best qualified person or source available
and the medical certification of cause of death from the person responsible for this information.
- (c) The medical certification shall be completed and signed within 24 hours after delivery by the physician in attendance
at or after delivery except when an official inquiry or inquest is required and except as provided by regulation in
special problem cases.
- (d) When a fetal death occurs without medical attendance upon the mother at or after the delivery, or when official
inquiry is required, the department shall provide by regulation, in accordance with law, the responsibility for
completing and signing the medical certification.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.