Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 13. Decedents' Estates, Guardianships, Transfers, and Trusts.
- Chapter 16. Probate of Wills and Administration
- Section 465. Manner of Presentation of Claims.
previous: Section 460
. Limitations On Presentation of Claims.
next: Section 470
. Classification of Claims.
AS 13.16.465. Manner of Presentation of Claims.
Claims against a decedent's estate may be presented as follows:
- (1) the claimant may deliver or mail to the personal representative a written statement of the claim indicating its basis,
the name and address of the claimant, and the amount claimed, or may file a written statement of the claim, in the form
prescribed by rule, with the clerk of the court; the claim is considered presented on receipt of the written statement
of claim by the personal representative or on the filing of the claim with the court, whichever occurs first; if a
claim is not yet due, the date when it will become due shall be stated; if the claim is contingent or unliquidated, the
nature of the uncertainty shall be stated; if the claim is secured, the security shall be described; failure to
describe correctly the security, the nature of any uncertainty, and the due date of a claim not yet due does not
invalidate the presentation made;
- (2) the claimant may commence a proceeding against the personal representative in any court where the personal
representative may be subjected to jurisdiction, to obtain payment of a claim against the estate, but the commencement
of the proceeding must occur within the time limited for presenting the claim; no presentation of claim is required in
regard to matters claimed in proceedings against the decedent which were pending at the time of death;
- (3) if a claim is presented under (1) of this section, no proceeding on it may be commenced more than 60 days after the
personal representative has mailed a notice of disallowance; but, in the case of a claim which is not presently due or
which is contingent or unliquidated, the personal representative may consent to an extension of the 60-day period, or
to avoid injustice the court, on petition, may order an extension of the 60-day period, but in no event shall the
extension run beyond the applicable statute of limitations.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.