Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 10. Corporations and Associations
- Chapter 50. Alaska Revised Limited Liability Company Act
- Section 408. Involuntary Dissolution.
previous: Section 405
. Dissolution By Court.
next: Section 410
. Authority to Wind Up.
AS 10.50.408. Involuntary Dissolution.
- (a) A limited liability company may be dissolved involuntarily by the commissioner if
- (1) the company is delinquent six months in filing its biennial report or in paying a fee or a penalty;
- (2) the company has failed for 30 days to appoint and maintain a registered agent in the state;
- (3) the company has failed for 30 days after change of its registered office or registered agent to file in the office of
the commissioner a statement of the change; or
- (4) a misrepresentation of material facts has been made in the application, report, affidavit, or other document submitted
under this chapter.
- (b) A limited liability company may not be dissolved under this section unless the commissioner has given the company
written notice of its delinquency, failure, or misrepresentation by mail as provided by (f) of this section. If the
company fails, within 60 days after the notice is sent by mail as required under this subsection, to contest the
alleged delinquency, failure, or misrepresentation, it may be dissolved under (d) of this section.
- (c) If, following a hearing, the commissioner determines the presence of the delinquency, failure, or misrepresentation
providing grounds for involuntary dissolution under this section, the company may appeal to the superior court. The
court shall either sustain the commissioner or direct the commissioner to take action the court considers proper.
- (d) If a limited liability company has given cause for involuntary dissolution and has failed to correct the neglect,
omission, delinquency, or noncompliance as provided in this section, and there has not been a controlling order of the
superior court, the commissioner shall dissolve the company by issuing a certificate of involuntary dissolution
containing a statement that the company has been dissolved, the date, and the reason for which it was dissolved. The
original certificate of dissolution shall be placed in the department files and a copy of it mailed to the company as
provided by (f) of this section. Upon the issuance of the certificate of involuntary dissolution, the existence of the
company ceases, except as otherwise provided in this chapter, and its name shall be available to use and may be adopted
by another company on a date that is six months or later after the dissolution.
- (e) A company dissolved under this section may be reinstated within two years from the date of the certificate of
involuntary dissolution if it is established to the satisfaction of the commissioner that in fact there was no cause
for the dissolution, or if the delinquency, failure, or misrepresentation resulting in dissolution has been corrected
and payment made of double the amount delinquent along with the amount the company would have paid had it not been
dissolved during the two-year period. Reinstatement may not be authorized if the name of the company is not
distinguishable upon the records of the department under AS 10.50.025
unless the company being reinstated amends its articles of organization to change its name to conform with the
provisions of this chapter.
- (f) If the mailing of an item is required by (b) or (d) of this section, the commissioner shall first mail the item by
certified mail to the registered office of the limited liability company at the last known address of the registered
office shown on the records of the commissioner. If the item mailed to the registered office is returned to the
department, the commissioner shall mail the item by first class mail to the registered agent of the limited liability
company at the last known address of the registered agent shown on the records of the commissioner. If the item mailed
to the registered agent is returned to the department, the commissioner shall mail the item by first class mail to the
manager or the managing member of the limited liability company at the last known address for the manager or the
managing member shown on the records of the commissioner. If the name and address of the manager or managing members
are not shown on the records of the commissioner, the commissioner is not required to mail the notice to the manager or
managing member. If the item mailed to the manager or managing member is returned to the department, the commissioner
is not required to mail the item again. If the address shown on the records of the commissioner for a mailing after the
initial certified mailing is not different from the address for the previous mailing, the commissioner is not required
to mail the item to the same address, but shall mail the item to the next required addressee whose address is different
from the address for the returned mailing, and, if none of the mailings required after a returned mailing has an
address that is different from the address for the returned mailing, the commissioner is not required to mail the item
again. In this subsection, "item" means the notice required under (b) of this section or the certificate of involuntary
dissolution issued under (d) of this section.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.