Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 8. Business and Professions
- Chapter 95. Social Workers
- Section 110. License Requirements.
previous: Section 100
. License Required.
next: Section 120
. Licensing By Credentials.
AS 08.95.110. License Requirements.
- (a) The board shall issue a license to practice clinical social work to a person who
- (1) has received a master's degree or a doctoral degree in social work from a college or university approved by the board;
- (2) has completed, within the 10 years before application for licensure and under the supervision of a licensed clinical
social worker, licensed psychologist, or licensed psychiatrist either
- (A) a minimum of two years of continuous full-time employment in postgraduate clinical social work; or
- (B) a minimum of 3,000 hours of less than full-time employment in a period of not less than two years in postgraduate
clinical social work;
- (3) is of good moral character;
- (4) is in good professional standing and is fit to practice social work as determined by the board;
- (5) has provided three professional references that are acceptable to the board, including, if the applicant
- (A) was previously employed to practice social work, one reference from a person who was the applicant's employer while
practicing social work unless the applicant demonstrates to the satisfaction of the board that the applicant is unable
to satisfy the requirement of this subparagraph through no fault of the applicant; and
- (B) is currently employed to practice social work, a reference from the applicant's current employer;
- (6) has satisfactorily completed the examination given by the board for clinical social worker licensing; and
- (7) has paid required fees.
- (b) The board shall issue a license authorizing use of the title "master social worker" to a person who
- (1) satisfies the requirements of (a)(1), (3) - (5), and (7) of this section; and
- (2) has satisfactorily completed the examination given by the board for master social worker licensing.
- (c) The board shall issue a license authorizing use of the title "baccalaureate social worker" to a person who
- (1) satisfies the requirements of (a)(3) - (5) and (7) of this section;
- (2) has received a bachelor's degree in social work from a college or university approved by the board; and
- (3) has satisfactorily completed the examination given by the board for baccalaureate social worker licensing.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.