Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 8. Business and Professions
- Chapter 63. Marital and Family Therapy
- Section 100. Qualifications For License to Practice.
previous: Section 60
. Administrative Procedure Act.
next: Section 110
. License For Supervised Practice.
AS 08.63.100. Qualifications For License to Practice.
- (a) The board shall issue a license to practice marital and family therapy to a person who
- (1) applies on a form provided by the board;
- (2) pays the fee established under AS 08.01.065
- (3) furnishes evidence satisfactory to the board that the person
- (A) has not engaged in conduct that is a ground for imposing disciplinary sanctions under AS 08.63.210
- (B) holds a master's degree or doctorate in marital and family therapy or allied mental health field from a regionally
accredited educational institution approved by the board for which the person completed a course of study that included
instruction substantially equivalent to the following:
- (i) three courses or nine semester or 12 quarter hours of course work in marital and family therapy;
- (ii) three courses or nine semester or 12 quarter hours of course work in marital and family studies;
- (iii) three courses or nine semester or 12 quarter hours of course work in human development;
- (iv) one course or three semester or four quarter hours of course work in professional studies or professional ethics and
- (v) one course or three semester or four quarter hours of course work in research; and
- (vi) one year of supervised clinical practice in marital and family therapy;
- (C) after receiving a degree described in (B) of this paragraph, has
- (i) practiced marital and family therapy, including 1,500 hours of direct clinical contact with couples, individuals, and
- (ii) been supervised in the clinical contact for at least 200 hours, including 100 hours of individual supervision and 100
hours of group supervision approved by the board;
- (D) has received training related to domestic violence; and
- (E) has passed a written or oral examination administered by the board.
- (b) Under regulations adopted by the board, a person who holds a master's or doctorate degree in marital and family
therapy or allied mental health field from a regionally accredited educational institution approved by the board, but
whose course of degree study did not include all the courses or clinical practice requirements set out in (a)(3)(B) of
this section may substitute post-degree courses or practice, as approved by the board, to satisfy the requirements of
(a)(3)(B) of this section.
- (c) An applicant who fails an examination given under this section may not retake the examination for a period of six
months from the date of the examination that the applicant failed.
- (d) A license issued under this section shall be renewed biennially by the applicant on a date set by the department and
approved by the board. It shall be renewed by payment of the fee established under AS 08.01.065 and by satisfaction of the continuing education
requirements established by the board for the renewal of licenses issued under this section.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.