- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 43. Revenue and Taxation
- Chapter 75. Fisheries Business License and Taxes
- Section 20. Application For License.
previous: Section 19
. Alaska Veterans' Memorial Endowment Fund Contribution Credit. [Repealed, Sec. 25 Ch 46 SLA 2002].
next: Section 30
. Filing Return and Payment of Tax.
AS 43.75.020. Application For License.
- (a) Application for a license shall be filed with the department and accompanied by an annual fee of $25. A separate
annual fee is required for each plant specified in the application covered by the license. The application must contain
the name of the applicant, the line of business to be licensed, place of business, and other facts that the department
prescribes. The applicant shall state that the applicant, as a condition of obtaining and maintaining the license, agrees to pay
- (1) the taxes levied under this title, and that the applicant will make a return and pay the taxes at the time
provided by law;
- (2) any seafood marketing assessment levied under AS 16.51;
- (3) contributions imposed under AS 23.20 (Alaska Employment Security Act);
- (4) any administrative penalties assessed under AS 18.60.093 for a violation of a provision of AS 18.60.010 - 18.60.105; and
- (5) any applicable fishery sales, use, or severance taxes imposed by a municipality in the state.
- (b) Upon receipt of an application in proper form under (a) or (c) of this section, accompanied by the annual
fee, the department shall issue the license if the
- (1) applicant has paid in full, including interest and penalties, the following:
- (A) taxes levied under this title; and
- (B) any assessments under AS 16.51;
- (2) department has not received notification from the Department of Labor and Workforce Development that the
applicant has failed to pay in full
- (A) an assessment of delinquent contributions that is final under AS 23.20.205(c) or 23.20.220(c); or
- (B) an administrative penalty that is final under AS 18.60.093 or 18.60.097; and
- (3) department has not received a copy of
- (A) a final judgment obtained against the applicant for unpaid fishery sales, use, or severance taxes imposed
by a municipality in the state; or
- (B) a final administrative determination against the applicant from a municipality in the state for unpaid
fishery sales, use, or severance taxes imposed by the municipality; the administrative determination must be accompanied by a
certification by the municipality that the municipal administrative process is consistent with constitutional requirements of due
process and that the applicant has exhausted all administrative remedies under the applicable municipal administrative process.
- (c) Instead of a license issued under (a) of this section, the department may issue a direct marketing fisheries business
license to a licensed commercial fisherman who processes fishery resources caught using a vessel that does not exceed
65 feet in overall length and is owned or leased by the commercial fisherman. The licensee may place into commerce in
the state and outside of the state processed or unprocessed fishery resources caught using the vessel described in the
license. Fishery resources that are caught using the vessel and owned by the licensee from the time of harvest through
sale, as defined by the department by regulation, may be processed by the licensee on the vessel, at a shore-based
facility, or by means of custom processing services obtained by the licensee. An application for a direct marketing
fisheries business license shall be filed with the department and accompanied by an annual fee of $25. A separate
direct marketing fisheries business license and annual license fee are required for each vessel on which processing is
performed. The application must state the name and address of the applicant, the fishery resources for which the
applicant holds a commercial fishing entry permit or interim-use permit or quota share, a description of the vessel and
each shore-based facility where the applicant will process fishery resources, and other information that the department
prescribes by regulation. The application must state that the applicant, as a condition of obtaining and maintaining the license, agrees
to pay the taxes, assessment, employment security contributions, and penalties as set out in (a)(1) - (5) of this section.
A person who holds a direct marketing fisheries business license
may not under that license (1) purchase fishery resources for resale or processing for sale; or (2) process fishery
resources for another licensed commercial fisherman or for a fisheries business licensed under this chapter. In this
subsection, "licensed commercial fisherman" means a natural person who holds a commercial fishing entry permit or
interim-use permit issued under AS 16.43 or a quota share issued
under federal law.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.